First Pro Hockey of The Season – Preview

So far this season, I have taken in three hockey games. These were all of the junior variety though. Junior hockey is probably my favorite hockey to attend, but who doesn’t loves some hard-nosed, men’s hockey? Well, that’s where I should be headed this Sunday. The ECHL opens it’s season with pre-season hockey (starts tonight, actually) this week. I’ll be headed to the back end of a home-and-home series featuring the Wheeling Nailers (cool name, eh?) and the Cincinnati Cyclones.

 

It’s no secret that I enjoy rough hockey. This game should feature plenty of that. Since Wheeling’s home game is the second half of the home-and-home, I figure the two teams will be nice and mad at each other. I’m somewhat scared for Wheeling, as they are bringing water guns to a war. Cincinnati’s lineup features three of the toughest hombre’s you will find in minor-pro hockey. These men would happen to be Weapon X (Alex Penner), Mike Liambas (5’9, 200lbs of pure fury), and Justin Sawyer, who at 6’6, 240lbs is one scary dude. The Nailers will counter with third year pro, Peter Merth, Christaan Minella (Cincy Native), and Adams Ross. The game should have plenty of fireworks for the cheap $5 pre-season ‘sit anywhere’ ticket price.

 

With this being the opening post, I would like to give some insight on what I will feature. Each week will feature a preview post and a ‘look back’ post. I will try to document my trip from start to finish with pictures and text. Stats, results, and a driver/player feature will also be included.

Leave a Reply

